Schedules of Indian Constitution

Schedules of Indian Constitution

The initial version of the constitution that India adopted on 26th January of 1950, was having 8th Scheduled. Later on with different constitutional amendments 4 new schedules were introduced in the constitution .

  • 9th Schedule was added by the 1st Constitutional Amendment (1951) to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.
  • 10th Schedule was added by the 52nd Constitutional Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law.
  • 11th Schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992.
  • 12th Schedule was added by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992.
FirstLists the states, Union territories of India and their territorial demarcations
  • Part ‘A’ Salary and emoluments of the President and Governors of States.
  • Part ‘B’ Omitted.
  • Part ‘C’ Salary and emoluments of the Speaker/Deputy Speaker or Chairman/ Vice-Chairman of the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies or Councils.
  • Part ‘D’ Salary and emoluments of the judge of the Supreme Court and High Courts.
  • Part ‘E’ Salary and emoluments of the Comptroller and Auditor General of India.
ThirdForms of oaths and Affirmations of offices for elected officials including judges
FourthAllocation of seats to States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha.
FifthProvisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes
SixthAdministration of Tribal Areas of North-Eastern States –  Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram
SeventhDistribution of power between the Union and the State Government.(Union List, State List and Concurrent List)
EightDescription of 22 languages recognized by the constitution.
NinthValidation of certain Acts and Regulations
TenthProvisions as to disqualification on ground of defection (Anti-defection Law introduced by the 52nd Constitutional Amendment Act).
EleventhPanchayat Raj (rural local government, 73rd Constitutional Amendment Act)
TwelfthMunicipalities (urban local government, 74th Constitutional Amendment Act)

Also CheckDifferent Sources of the Indian Constitution

Default image
Author Panel
Articles: 43

Leave a Reply