in , ,

List of RBI Governors

Governors of Reserve Bank of India

List of RBI Governors

Reserve bank of India (RBI) is the Central Bank of India. It is responsible to govern the monetary policy of the country. RBI was established on 1st April 1935 under the RBI Act, 1934 and was formed with the recommendation of “Hilton – Young Commission”. It was initially established as a privately owned bank and got nationalized on 1st January 1949 after the Independence of India. RBI is headquartered in Mumbai but initially, it was located in Kolkata and shifted to Mumbai in 1937.

The Governor of Reserve Bank of India is the Chief Executive Officer of the Central Bank of India and the Ex-Officio Chairman of its Central Board of Directors.

The RBI Governors are appointed by the Government of India for a fixed period of time.The Indian notes(Except the 1 Rupee note) issued by the Reserve Bank of India is signed by the Governor of the RBI.

Here is the complete list of 25 RBI Governors from 1935-2020

Sl. No.NameTime Period
1Sir Osborne Smith1st April, 1935 – 30th June, 1937
2Sir James Braid Taylor1st July, 1937 –17th February, 1943
3Sir Chintaman Dwarakanath Deshmukh11th August, 1943 – 30th June, 1949
4Sir Bengal Rama Rau1st July, 1949 – 14 th January, 1957
5K.G. Ambegaonkar14th January, 1957 – 28th February, 1957
6H.V.R Lyengar1st March, 1957 – 28th February, 1962
7P.C Bhattacharya1st March,  1962 – 30th June, 1967
8Lakshmi Kant Jha1st July, 1967 – 3rd May, 1970
9B.N. Adarkar4th May, 1970 – 15th June, 1970
10S. Jagannathan16th June,  1970 – 19th May, 1975
11N.C. Sen Gupta19th May, 1975 – 19th August, 1975
12K.R. Puri20th August, 1975 – 2nd May, 1977
13M. Narasimham3rd May, 1977 – 30th November, 1977
14I.G. Patel1st December, 1977 – 15th September, 1982
15Dr.Manmohan Singh16tth September, 1982 – 14th January, 1985
16Amitav Gosh15th January, 1985 – 4th February, 1985
17R.N. Malhotra4th February, 1985 – 22nd December, 1990
18S. Vpnldraramanan22nd December,1990 – 21st  December,1992
19C. Rangarajan22ndDecember,1992 – 21st Novembe,1997
20Bimal Jalan22nd November, 1997 – 6th September, 2003
21Y.V. Reddy6th September, 2003 – 5th September, 2008
22D. Subbarao5th September, 2008 – 4th September, 2013
23Raghuram Govinda Rajan4th September, 2013 – 4th September, 2016
24Urjit Ravindra Patel4th September, 2016 –10th December, 2018
25Shaktikanta Das12th December, 2018 – Till Date



  • Sir Osborne Smith was the first ever governor of RBI.
  •  Mr. C.D. Deshmukh was the first Indian Governor of RBI
  • Amitabh Ghosh served RBI as Governor for the shortest time, only for 20 days starting from January 15, 1985, to February 4, 1985.
  • Benegal Rama Rao had served as the RBI Governor for the longest time period.He worked for almost 7 years from 1st July 1949 to 14th January 1957.
  •  On 2004,Dr. Manmohan Singh became the first and only RBI Governor,to serve the country as the Indian Prime Minister
  • In 2003, Ms KJ Udeshi became first woman Deputy Governor of the Reserve bank of India.
  • RBI Governor is appointed by the Prime Minster’s Office (PMO). The Union Finance Minister’s recommendation is taken into consideration while appointing the Governor
  • Both, the RBI Governor and Deputy Governor, are appointed as per the Section 8 of Reserve Bank of India Act 1934
  • The motto of RBI is : “Cash is King, but Digital is Divine”
  • The Slogan of RBI is : “Developing Banking“.

Do Follow: Reserve Bank of India – Quick Facts 

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Statehood Day of Indian States

Statehood Day of Indian States

Sources of the Indian Constitution

Different Sources of the Indian Constitution